Global Under Menu

Women's Centers Committee Awards

Nominations for Women's Center Committee awards may be self-submitted. 

Requirements for submission of nominations include:

  • Current individual NWSA membership
  • Completion of online form
  • One letter of nomination or self-nomination
  • One letter of support (the form has a field to input the email address for the person writing the letter of support, and they will be automatically sent instructions to upload their letter directly to your nomination)
  • A copy of your resume or CV 

Outstanding Achievement Award
The Outstanding Achievement award is given to remarkable individuals working in Women’s Centers/Gender Equity Centers who have accomplished a significant endeavor to improve the lives of women, and have addressed gender equity, sexism and other forms of oppression.

Emerging Leader Award
An Emerging Leader is an individual new to the field of Women’s Center/Gender Equity Centers who has demonstrated extraordinary dedication to the issues that affect women on campus, in their community or globally.

Founders Awards
While collaborative efforts of many faculty, students and staff contributed to the establishment of the early women’s centers in the academy, this award is a special recognition of the pioneers who were the first directors of a college or university women’s center that has continued to serve students, faculty, and/or staff for at least two decades.

Lifetime Achievement Award
This award is given to an individual whose professional accomplishments includes leadership and service for a significant period of time as a Women’s Center director at one or more institutions of higher education in their professional career. This individual will have served as an effective visionary on behalf of women’s equality and lives, as an advocate, role model and mentor to other women and those dedicated to gender equity, and as one whose engagement with policy and systemic change has helped shaped the course of women’s and gender issues in her workplace, and, thus, provided a standard of excellence and enduring legacy.
Please contact Whitney Jones Archer or Erin Lovette-Colyer with any questions about the nomination process.