Global Under Menu


NWSA Former Presidents (from left to right: Beverly Guy-Sheftall, Bonnie Thornton Dill, Yi-Chun Tricia Lin, and Vivien Ng)

2018 Governing Council Election Results

The National Women's Studies Association is pleased to announce the results of its 2018 election. We thank all of the candidates for their willingness to serve in NWSA leadership, and congratulate those who were elected.  The following individuals take office in November 2018.

Premilla Nadasen

Vice President
Diane Harriford

M. Billye Sankofa Waters
Mahruq Khan

Governing Council Vacancies 2019-2020

Treasurer (2019-2021)
Secretary (2019-2021)
Member at Large (2019-2021)
Member at Large (2019-2021)

President (2020-2022)
Vice President (2020-2022)
Member at Large (2020-2022)
Member at Large (2020-2022)

Elections Timeline
  • August 1 at 3 PM EST: All nominations due.
  • August 11: All candidates must be current individual members.
  • August 11: All candidates must complete a candidate statement in order to be listed on the ballot. Only candidates with current individual membership and completed candidate statements by 8/11 will be listed on the electronic ballot.
  • September 1: Electronic ballots sent to members with current individual memberships as of 8/11/17 and a valid email address.
  • September 15: End of electronic voting.
  • By September 25: Announcement of election results.
  • November: Positions begin at the Governing Council meeting held on the Sunday of the annual conference.
For candidates who seek Governing Council positions, The NWSA Governing Council serves as the Board of Directors for the organization and meets twice annually: in June and November. NWSA provides limited travel support ($300 per meeting) for low-income, student, or for those Governing Council Members without institutional travel support.