NWSA holds elections every year for governing council and constituency group chair vacancies. Refer to the NWSA Bylaws for details about individual duties of NWSA leadership positions. Please email us with any questions.

2020 Governing Council Election Results

President (2020-2022): Karsonya (Kaye) Wise Whitehead
The President has the powers and duties usually vested in the office of a President, including but not limited to:

  • Oversight of NWSA’s day-to-day affairs in the absence of an Executive Director
  • Chairing the GC, the Executive Committee, the MA, and the national conference
  • Providing content leadership for the national conference(s) planned during the President’s term of office
  • Serving as NWSA spokesperson and external liaison in partnership with the Executive Director
  • Maintaining ex officio membership on all committees

Vice President (2020-2022): No candidates
The Vice President serves as may be required in the President’s absence with all the attendant powers and duties. The Vice President also chairs the Elections Committee, collaborating with NWSA staff to foster leadership opportunities and development throughout NWSA and to ensure the integrity of elections throughout NWSA.

Member at Large (2020-2022): Erica Williams and Qiana Cutts
There are two positions for member-at-large on the NWSA Governing Council. The members-at-large serve on the GC for two years and are asked to serve on an awards committee for their term.

2020 Constituency Group Chair Election Results

Aging and Ageism Caucus: Terri Johnson and Rehshetta Wells
Community College Caucus: Bridget Kriner
Girls and Girl Studies Caucus: Aria Halliday
Indigenous People's Caucus: Luhui Whitebear
Jewish Caucus: No candidates
North American Asian Feminist Collective Caucus: Wen Liu
Transnational Feminisms Caucus: Tabassum Ruby
Undergraduate Student Caucus: No candidates

Interest Groups
Animal Studies/Animal Ethics Interest Group: No candidates
Arts and Performance Studies Interest Group: Cara Hagan
Asexuality Studies Interest Group: KJ Cerankowski
Confronting Campus Sexual Assault Interest Group: Danielle Bermudez
Early Modern Women Interest Group: Donna Thompson
Fat Studies Interest Group: Sara Diaz
Feminists for Justice In/For Palestine Interest Group: No candidates
Feminist Media Studies Interest Group: Andrea Glass
Feminist Pedagogy Interest Group: Mary Zaborskis
Gender, Women’s, and Feminist Studies (GWFS) PhD Interest Group: Ayana Weekley and Kandace Creel
Law and Public Policy Interest Group: No candidates
Libraries and Archives Interest Group: Holly Smith
Publishing Feminisms Interest Group: Agatha Beins
Reproductive Justice Interest Group: No candidates

Task Forces
Science and Technology Task Force: No candidates

Program Administrators and Directors Committee (PAD): Diane Price Herndl