Global Under Menu

Constituency Groups


Current members of NWSA can join and participate in constituency groups
.  Becoming active in a constituency group can support members' research interest and enhance members' networks as well as leadership skills.  Article VII of the NWSA bylaws define the roles and activities of constituency groups.

Conference attendees can join groups via the membership form and are encouraged to attend the business meeting at the NWSA conference. 

NWSA offers a range of constituent group opportunities to its members in order to advance its mission, the field, and to foster paths to leadership, including but not limited to:

    Caucuses.  Caucuses focus on groups that are under-represented within society or NWSA.
    Program Administration & Development and Women’s Centers.  These two groups focus roles that are vital to the NWSA mission.
    Task Forces.  Task Forces focus on an issue relevant to NWSA that can be addressed through action.
    Interest Groups.  Interest groups focus on areas of scholarly inquiry.

    Status & Operation
        General.  The GC may set policy regarding constituent groups, consistent with these bylaws.

        Members.  Individual members interested in joining one or more constituent groups do so via their annual membership forms.

     Leadership.  In order to fulfill their role as paths to leadership and maintain process consistency throughout NWSA, constituent groups are expected to have a Chair of Record defined as follows:

        A constituent group chair is elected via election by the members as set forth in Article VIII.A-C of the bylaws.
        Constituent group chairs are subject to the terms/term limits set forth in Article VIII.D of the bylaws.
        Groups with co-chairs to manage their affairs must designate one (1) individual as Chair of Record.

        General.  Constituent groups may not act on behalf of NWSA or commit NWSA resources.

To Propose a New Constituency Group
Please submit the following to the NWSA Office at

  • Its name,
  • Its purpose relative to the mission of NWSA, AND
  • The signatures of at least twenty-five (25) current members

Note:  We do not require handwritten signatures.  You can submit a spreadsheet with the name, institution, and email address of the 25 members.  The NWSA office will verify their current individual memberships. 
Time Frame: 
Requests for new groups which meet the requirements must be received by September 1 of each calendar year to be listed on the following year’s membership form. 
For example, requests received by September 1, 2018  which meet the requirements will be listed on the NWSA 2019 individual membership form.  This form will be posted in early October.

To Join a Constituency Group:
You can join a constituency group when you join or renew your membership with NWSA or after you have completed the membership process. 

Download the individual NWSA membership form and mark the groups you would like to join, including the appropriate fee if necessary.

Log in and join constituency groups online.  Current members will see the tab "My Caucuses" on the left hand side of the page.  You must have a current NWSA membership to join a constituency group.

Constituency Groups and Chairs
NOTE:  Elections for Group Chairs take place in September with some group elections in odd years and some in even years. Check the Constituency Group Chair election page for details.

Chairs can access their group's roster using the instructions in the NWSA Constituency Group Leadership Packet.
i If you run into any problems using the tools, please email

Program Administration and Development Jenn Brandt
  Diane Price Herndl
Women's Centers Lysa Salsbury
  Lisa Logan


Aging and Ageism Caucus Melanie Cattrell
Community College Caucus Cherise Charleswell
Feminist Mothering Caucus Deidre Hill Butler
Girls and Girls Studies Caucus Lena Palacios
Graduate Student Caucus Taryn Jordan
Indigenous Peoples Caucus Maya Mikdashi
Jewish Caucus Jonathan Branfman
Lesbian Caucus Sasha T. Goldberg
North American Asian Feminist Collective Xin Huang
Queer and Trans People of Color Caucus Moya Bailey
  Marlon Bailey
South Asian Feminist Caucus Sobia Khan
Trans/Gender Variant Caucus Chris Barcelos
Transnational Feminisms Caucus Ginetta Candelario
Undergraduate Student Caucus Francesca Carlos
Women of Color Caucus Whitney Peoples
  Karsonya Kaye Whitehead

Interest Groups

Animal Studies/Animal Ethics Interest Group Lindsay Garcia
Asexuality Studies Interest Group Anna Kurowicka
Confronting Campus Sexual Assault Simona Sharoni
  Yi-Chun Tricia Lin
Contingent Faculty Interest Group Julianne Guillard
Disabilities Studies Interest Group Jina Kim
Distance Education Interest Group Leandra Preston-Sidler
Early Modern Women Interest Group Donna Thompson
Fat Studies Interest Group Katherine Phelps
Feminism and Activism Interest Group Treva Lindsey
Feminists for Justice In/For Palestine Simona Sharoni
Feminist Masculinities Interest Group Charlie Yi Zhang
Feminist Media Studies Interest Group Lakia Shavon Lightner
Feminist Pedagogy Interest Group Melanie Adley
Feminist Spirituality Interest Group Cristine de la Luna
Law and Public Policy Interest Group Lisa Alfredson
  Leifa Mayers
Arts and Performance Interest Group Elizabeth Currans
Publishing Feminisms Interest Group Agatha Beins
Reproductive Justice Interest Group Nikole Sanders
Third Wave Feminisms Interest Group Gwendolyn Pough
Gender, Women's, and Feminist Studies (GWFS) PhD Interest Group Jae Basiliere

Task Forces

Anti White Supremacy Task Force Tamara L. Spira
  Heather Turcotte
International Task Force Mehra Shirazi
Librarians Task Force Sara Howard
Science and Technology Task Force Jade Sasser
  Rajani Bhatia
  Vange Heiliger 
Social Justice Education Task Force Cherise Charleswell
Academic Freedom Task Force Robin Hackett
  Siobhan Senier