Global Under Menu
Home > About > Constituency Groups

Constituency Groups


Current members of NWSA can join and participate in constituency groups
.  Becoming active in a constituency group can support members' research interest and enhance members' networks as well as leadership skills.

Caucuses designate groups that are under-represented within society or NWSA as an organization. Caucuses collect fees through the membership form and use these fees to promote the mission of the caucus primarily through conference activities.

Task Forces focus on an issue or problem, relevant to the policies and principles of NWSA and women's studies that can be addressed through action.
Interest Groups serve programmatic and networking functions and exist on an ad hoc basis. They are groups that allow members to get involved in NWSA without governance or operating document responsibilities and may serve as an initial step in building interest among those wanting to establish a caucus or task force. Bound by the same code of ethics as other constituent groups, formation requires a simple petition to the office of the Association. 

Constituency Groups hold business meetings at the annual conference.  Check out the list of NWSA 2014 Business Meetings.

To Join a Constituency Group:
You can join a constituency group when you join or renew your membership with NWSA or after you have completed the membership process. 

Download the individual NWSA membership form and mark the groups you would like to join, including the appropriate fee if necessary.

Log in and join constituency groups online.  Current members will see the tab "My Caucuses" on the left hand side of the page.  You must have a current NWSA membership to join a constituency group.

Constituency Group Chairs

Aging and Ageism Caucus Sue Myllykangas
  Corinne T. Field
  Pam Gravagne
Community College Caucus Donna Thompson
  Jill Adams
  Sheryl Fairchild   
Feminist Mothering Caucus Abigail Palko
  Marta McClintock-Comeaux
Girls and Girls Studies Caucus Heather Switzer
  Emily Bent
  Annastasia Todd
Graduate Student Caucus Cherise Charleswell
  Heather Montes Ireland   
  Krista Benson 
Jewish Caucus Robyn Epstein
Lesbian Caucus Jaime Cantrell
South Asian Feminist Caucus Fawzia Afzal-Khan
  Alka Kurian
  Archana Pathak
Trans/Gender Variant Caucus Cael Keegan
  Rachel Reinke 
Undergraduate Student Caucus Katherine Miller
  Amelia Meman
  Sade Williams
Women of Color Caucus Lydia Kelow-Bennett
  Kaye Whitehead

Interest Groups
Asexuality Studies Interest Group Regina Wright
  Karli June Cerankowski  
Disability Studies Interest Group Sarah Rainey
  Sami Schalk 
  Ally Day 
Contingent Faculty Interest Group Sharon Adams 
  Gwen Beetham
Early Modern Women Interest Group Donna Thompson
Fat Studies Interest Group Michaela Nowell
  Candace Buss
Feminism and Activism Interest Group Nicole Carter
  Rebecca Dolhinow
Feminist  Masculinities Interest Group Aundrea Snitker
  Jordan Clapper
Women's/Gender/Feminist PhD and Doctoral Student
Interest Group
Carly Thomsen
  Melissa White
  Stina Soderling
Law and Public Policy Interest Group Carrie Baker
Reproductive Justice Erika Derkas
Third Wave Feminisms Adam Foley
  Nafisa Tanjeem

Task Forces
Anti White Supremacy Task Force Tamara L. Spira
  Heather Turcotte
Distance Education Task Force Betsy Eudey
  Kris Peleg
International Task Force Deniz Durmus
  MC Santana
Librarians Task Force Cynthia Ingold
  Alana Kumbier
Science and Technology Task Force Gwen D'arcangelis
Social Justice Education Task Force Cherise Charleswell
  Manjeet Birk 
  Mariam Youssef 

Has the Chair Changed?
Constituency groups determine the method for determining the chair as well as the term of the chair.  Please contact Patti Provance at with the name of the chair, the term of office, and email address.  We will provide chairs with “chair” access to download the roster and other helpful information, including deadlines for planning conference activities.

Chairs should maintain both their NWSA membership and their constituency group membership during the length of their term.